The Beltline with The Junction Trio

The Beltline with The Junction Trio ft David Suzuki

The Beltline with Jamie Thompson & Maura Trassa Lawlor + fragments of an interview with David Suzuki (retrieved from CBC Radio Q w/ Jian Ghomeshi).

Location: The Beltline around Chorley Park and Evergreen Brick Works in Toronto, ON. A/V Recorded on the afternoon and early evening of May 8th, 2013. The majority of my raw field recordings as used in the video are available for download here: https://soundcloud.com/theweyfarer/se…

The Junction Trio: Recorded April 24th. A collaboration with Jamie Thompson & Maura Trassa Lawlor in Saint Anne’s Anglican Church, 270 Gladstone Ave, Toronto, ON. Two pieces are used. 1) Farewell to Ayshire, Allan Masterton/Scottish Traditional, performed by Jamie Thompson. 2) Hopi Prayer of the Soul’s Graduation sung by Maura Trassa Lawlor.

David Suzuki: Retrieved from CBC Radio ‘Q with Jian Ghomeshi’ on May 8th, 2013. http://podcast.cbc.ca/mp3/podcasts/qp… + my edited version good for sampling: https://soundcloud.com/theweyfarer/da…

The product of an afternoon spent walking between Chorley Park and the Beltline, originally intended as a retracing of steps and plants covered with the Wild Foragers Society. Instead, as a consequence of spending the morning with a small group of youth, discussing the myth of Skywoman and the world on the turtles back, followed by a friend texting me while listening to David Suzuki on CBC’s Q with Jian Ghomeshi that same morning (May 8th), this maelstrom was the result. Believe it or not, my original edit contained tracks two and three from Radio-Activity by Kraftwerk. So, if you want to hear that instead of The Junction Trio, listen to this: http://youtu.be/tjI6RPBSp2Q?t=1m21s from the end of David’s intro and silence the published audio. You’ll end up missing the late-section return of David’s voice unless you know where it is (8:33-10:02), but I like it with the slightly out-of-place early techno of Kraftwerk just as much as this final edit. If I could publish both, or even three versions of audio, I certainly would have.

Hopi Prayer of the Soul’s Graduation, Traditional, sung by Maura Trass Lawlor:

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there, I do not sleep
I am a thousand winds that blow
I am the diamond glints on snow

I am the sunlight on the ripened grain
I am the gentle autumn’s rain
When you awaken
In the morning hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight
I am the stars that shine at night

Do not stand at my grave and cry
I am not there
I did not die

Leave a Reply

